April 27, 2006

Don’t let the sun go down on me

Posted in life or something like it. at 4:31 am by AltF

Where did that love go, the pampering arms, which held me when I was down? Now there are just pressures and pointing fingers. I need to get my working shoes on, how can I when I breathe struggling to keep myself alive. They do not understand they do not want to.

All they weave are just bridal dreams.

I am qualified I am bred only to be married off. I exist only to be thrown out from my maiden house. My name loses the charm my identity crashes down. I am just broken into half. I have lived 22 years here and now they want me to go.

Will I feel secured in a stranger’s arms, will I not face same pressures? Then why let me go and this way my fire just dies and breathes its last.

I have responsibilities which I shall shoulder but are these jewels going to help? They save money just to burn them in one night’s holy fire.They will cry when i depart.

Still they weave only bridal dreams.

Mansi Raj Singh

8 Comments »

  1. sid said,

    I think you just summed up the state of mind of an Indian girl between the age of 18-24 or maybe more. Well written!!

  2. Shantanu Singh said,

    very well written!

  3. Anoop said,

    yeah but does so in a a very beautiful way
    say three cheers to the new geeration writer!!!

  4. Charu said,

    “My name loses the charm my identity crashes down”…These words sum up the all s the stuff and anxieties rolling over in a girl’s mind who’s all set to be someone’s bride…leaving behind a part of herself…a part of her identity. An identity that she had been calling ‘her own’ all thru these years, will suddenly become alien to her…and soon she’ll embrace an all new self of her…amid an all new life.

    Whatever is it…but this is precisely the gist of an average girl’s life in India.

  5. ritu said,

    Hi Mansi,

    must say u write very well. i am also sailing in the same boat so can easily relate to it. Marriage seems like a big time screw up to me and that too ARRANGED.

    but its fine till the time we are out of those handcuffs. enjoy life till then.

    Love
    Ritu

  6. Amit Singla said,

    Yes at first it seems like an identity loss but if you look at it otherway round a girl gets a whole new world, a fresh begining.
    Lots of responsibilities help her evolve into a better person…….
    Sacrifice has been an important part of life for Indian woman this is the way our society is.
    But worrying about wats waiting ahead will only lessen ur enjoyment now.
    who knows you may get more pampering and love in your new family. May god bless you with a loving and caring hubby!

    Amit

  7. arun said,

    hey , what u said bout burning up money in one nite , its soo true, i can totally relate to that ,, well said,

    Arun

  8. aditi said,

    nice one


Leave a comment